Discuss with the board the traditional and cultural music in your home community.

Home Forums Sprouting Melodies Training – January 2015 Week 3 Discuss with the board the traditional and cultural music in your home community.

Viewing 18 reply threads
  • Author

Meredith Pizzi

Keymaster

Jessica Bogacik

Participant

I am new to my community, so I haven’t quite put my finger on the cultural songs of this area, but in my home state of Virginia, especially in the mountains, there are a lot of people who grew up listening to and playing bluegrass music, and those songs are engrained in their culture and their world, passed down from generation to generation. Most of my work has been with hospice patients, and it was always a great opportunity to experience families making music together, or sharing the experience of remembering their cultural songs.

Melissa Hentges

Participant

Minnesota has a very German and Scandinavian cultural background. Many of the old, familiar nursery rhymes and folk tunes are still sung with children today. However, in the recent past, the cultural landscape of this area has begun to drastically change and become much more diverse. Music therapists in this area will need to begin integrating music from these cultures into their repertoire as our clientele reflects that change.

Mikhala Majeau

Participant