Hello all

• This topic has 8 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by Anonymous.
Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Jen Hinton

Participant

Hello all! My name is Jen Hinton. I worked as a Music Therapist in long-term care for the first 11 years of my career. I provided intergenerational groups during that time but felt that the work I connected most with to be serving residents diagnosed with dementia. Music so clearly connected with them and refocused them and I loved the spontaneity and challenges that these groups brought. Since becoming a Mom of a now 2 and 5 year old I have been re-creating myself in many ways…including professionally! The past 2 years I have been providing Music Enrichment services to an early learning center. I serve children ages 12 months-5 years of age. My classes are arranged in chronological order and range in size from 5 participants to 20. I have supportive teachers and aides present. I really enjoy being able to use my MT skills to improvise, compose, and connect with the kids. I am very excited to connect and be able to better ground myself in developmental milestones, especially related to music. I am excited to connect and apply what I learn here in my current position but am also dreaming and thinking about future possibilities! I was recently approached by our local civic center and see other community areas that could benefit from music and wellness for children and families. I live near a Lancaster, PA. I currently am also signed up with a CEU about starting your own business. Flexibility of schedule is key for me and for family as my husband is in school and working FT. Very excited and encouraged to meet all of you other amazing MTs and LOVE that this course is offered to MT-BCs!

Anonymous

Inactive

Hi,