Intoduction

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

Cindy Humphreys

Participant

Hi, my name is Cindy Humphreys and I am a music therapist working in Bay City, Michigan. I have been a music therapist for a very long time, almost thirty years, and am still as committed to the field as I was when I began. I currently work in a school district providing music therapy services to about 200 special education students each week. This includes early childhood inclusive play groups and many early childhood special education classrooms which are self contained. After meeting Beth at the AMTA conference this past October, I was very excited to learn about Raising Harmony and Sprouting Melodies. I have wanted to provide a music play group as part of our early childhood program, and I think this will be a perfect fit. I also would like to expand our special ed. classrooms to include typical developing peers, and I think that this approach will help administration understand the philosophy.

Meredith Pizzi

Keymaster

Welcome, Cindy! We are so glad you are hear to join us! You will find that this training will definitely support your work in the school district and in creating a music play group within your early childhood program. When we speak about parents and caregivers in the training, you can can substitute the words “teacher” and “paraprofessional” and think about how this applies to them. Thanks for posting! Be sure to come back and read other’s posts and feel free to contribute to the conversation again.

Elizabeth Schwartz

Keymaster

We are so excited to have you join us on this brand new adventure. It was just over a year ago that Meredith and I sat at dinner during the AMTA conference and made the decision to create an early childhood music site by music therapists for music therapists. And here we are! The seeds are sown, the ground is fertile and its time to grow.