Introductions

Viewing 26 reply threads
  • Author

Meredith Pizzi

Keymaster

Introduce yourself to the group. Tell us about your professional experiences and what motivated you to take this course. Be sure to include where you live, if you are already doing work in early childhood and how you would like to make this information part of your practice.

Johanna Horn

Participant

Hello!

My name is Johanna Horn and I am from Sterling, Virginia. I graduated from Shenandoah University in 2007 with my Bachelors of Music Therapy, minor in psychology and my concentration in voice. I did my music therapy internship at a public middle school and worked with students with autism and emotional irregularities. After my internship, I got s job at an early childhood center “teaching” music, but felt like I wanted to use my MT-BC credential so I left after a year and got a job at a private elementary school for individuals with autism for 5 years. During my time, I became pregnant with twins and needed to go on hospitalized bed rest early on in my pregnancy. When my daughters were finally born, I decided I needed to find a place to work where I could send my babies as well. I went back to the school I worked at right out of college “teaching” music and I have been for 2 1/2 years. I also work with a private music therapy company out of DC, Capital Music Therapy Services. I love early childhood and I truly feel it’s my wheelhouse!

Can’t wait to begin this new program.

Kristen McSorley

Participant

Great to meet you Johanna! I went to school with someone at Capital- Wren McNany! This happens more often than not in our small music therapy bubble.

Johanna Horn

Nice to meet you too, Kristen! Lauren is fantastic and such an asset to our company. It really is a small community, and I love that about our profession!

Sarah Szymanowski

Participant

Hello, Johanna! We’re practically neighbors.

Johanna Horn

Participant