Introductions

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

Anonymous

Inactive

Share your professional experience with the group and what your hopes and expectations are for this course.

Be sure to come back and respond to others as well.

Celia Grove

Participant

Hello! My name is Celia Grove, and I’m a music therapist from Northern Virginia! I went to Elizabethtown College in PA and graduated in 2018. I completed my internship with Fairfax County Public Schools in Virginia, working in both an elementary school, and an adaptive school with kids in grades K-12. After my internship, I spent the first two and a half years of my working experience working for a Medicaid waiver provider in Indiana, providing individual services to a wide variety of ages and diagnoses, including early childhood. Last year, I decided to move back to the DC metro area, which is where I’m originally from, and started working for a private practice providing in-person and virtual music therapy, as well as adapted piano, ukulele and voice lessons.
      I have wanted to take the Sprouting Melodies course for quite a while- I remember being very impressed and excited when seeing Raising Harmony at conference sessions, but finding the right timing has been hard. As we emerge from some of the shutdowns of the pandemic, I find myself needing a refresher on my group-leading and community building skills, as well as more musical inspiration for my early childhood clientele, so I think that taking this course now will help me to do just that! Looking forward to working and learning with you all!

Hally Batterman

Participant

Hi Celia! I was actually born in Alexandria and lived in the area where you completed your internship! It was beautiful down there and I miss it a lot! We moved up to Long Island when I was 5 so that I could grow up around my family. Your work sounds like a blast!

Samantha M Lawrence

Participant