Post to the board a personal reflection of what you personally will bring to early childhood music therapy based programs and how this information will support your work as a music therapist.

Home Forums Sprouting Melodies Training – June 2015 Week 2 Post to the board a personal reflection of what you personally will bring to early childhood music therapy based programs and how this information will support your work as a music therapist.

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

Meredith Pizzi

Keymaster

Laura Silvestain

Participant

Since I am not yet a practicing music therapy, I am not sure what exactly I will bring to early childhood music therapy based programs. I hope to provide a unique experience to children, while reaching goals effectively. I know this information will be a basis for my work, and I will use what I learn to shape my work into what I believe should be done as a music therapist.

Mary Kerrigan

Participant

I am a practicing music therapist, however, I primarily work with adults and my work with children is more in later childhood and adolescence. So I too am not exactly sure yet how I will impact early childhood music therapy based programs except that I hope to spread the experience to my area by actively running Sprouting Melodies groups after completing the training. I am hoping to open more eyes to the benefits of music therapy for young children. Many people tend to assume that music therapy is for developmentally delayed children or adults rather than for “typcial” healthy children. I hope that by providing the Sprouting Melodies program in my area I will gain more support and advocate more for our field and bring some joy and happiness of course to those families seeking a wonderful experiences such as Sprouting Melodies.

Melaine Pohlman

Participant