Post to the board a personal reflection of what you personally will bring to early childhood music therapy based programs and how this information will support your work as a music therapist.

Home Forums Sprouting Melodies Training – March 2015 Week 2 Post to the board a personal reflection of what you personally will bring to early childhood music therapy based programs and how this information will support your work as a music therapist.

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author

Meredith Pizzi

Keymaster

Amanda Braden

Participant

One thing that I believe that I can personally bring to early childhood music therapy programs is my love for play and interaction with young children. My husband and I do not yet have our own children, but it isn’t uncommon to find me on the floor playing a game with my young nieces at family functions. Also, I have some experience in leading young children in singing worship songs at my church, and I thoroughly enjoy jumping and spinning around while singing with the children almost as much as they do. So, I think my interest and enjoyment in interacting with children and playing with them at their level will help me make children feel welcomed and have fun while participating in group sessions. Also, I hope it will help parents see the fun and joy in playing with their children as well as in watching them grow into healthy human beings. One other important thing I bring is my experience in working with individuals with developmental and intellectual disabilities. For parents of children with disabilities, I can help point them to programs, other therapies, support groups, etc. that are available for them and their children in the community and assure these parents that there’s so much support available to them and their child, even as their child grows into adulthood. I’ve seen the difference in my own clients (between those who received early intervention programs and those that did not) and see the importance in encouraging families