Share some of your experiences with children of this age and level.

Home Forums Sprouting Melodies Training – April 2014 Week 6 Share some of your experiences with children of this age and level.

Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author

Meredith Pizzi

Keymaster

Barb Blackburn

Participant

I have a little bit of experience with children at this age level. Prior to my job that I have now as a music therapist, I was a nanny when we first moved out to Colorado. When I first started nannying, there was one child, age 1.5, and one on the way. Once he was born, I was able to be apart of his life from just a few weeks old through his first birthday! I don’t have children myself (yet) and I currently don’t work in early intervention, so this was a new experience for me. It was amazing to watch him grow and become aware, and to begin to move around on his own as well. The parents were thrilled that I was a music therapist, and I would sing with both children, play musical games, and bring over my instruments to play with them (I brought over a keyboard, guitar, and some drums). I taught both children little songs about anything, brushing their teeth, taking a nap, eating lunch, even going potty! It made them more excited to do these things, and they looked forward to singing the songs with me everyday. The oldest child remembered almost every song I taught her, sometimes she would say things like, “Barbie sing the shoe song!” when we were getting her shoes on to go outside, and I would think to myself, “Shoe song? What shoe song?” And she would start to sing it to remind me.

I’m very much looking forward to doing music with children at this age!

Lauren Roberts

Participant