Share your thoughts with the board members on the role of music therapy in community based settings.

Home Forums Sprouting Melodies Training – September 2013 Week 6 Share your thoughts with the board members on the role of music therapy in community based settings.

Viewing 18 reply threads
  • Author

Meredith Pizzi

Keymaster

Keeley St Clair

Participant

This is always an interesting discussion; I have experience in working within a less clinically focused model when I worked as a MT with hospitalized children. It was a bit different in that we worked mainly with individuals and their families, but we did not have formal assessments, treatment planning or termination plans per se (unless we had doctors orders which required more documentation etc). It was always a lively discussion with the other MT’s on the team as some maintained that as a MT they were doing Music Therapy but others of us saw it differently.
      Community based groups are a whole different animal, yet maintain some of the facets of our clinical work. I think the key distinction here is focus – in our clinical work we are focused mainly on hitting goals and objectives, while in community based work we focus more on the experience of being in music together.

Coleen Shanagher

Participant