Takeaways from the Course

Home Forums Sprouting Melodies – January 2022 Week 10 Takeaways from the Course

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

Anonymous

Inactive

What are your key takeaways from this course?

How has this learning changed your perspective on development, your approach to the work, or the way you use music in your sessions?

How will you share this information with colleagues, administrators and families?

Amy Brownell

Participant

While I have been working with young children for several years, this is the first time I have had additional formal training outside of my music therapy coursework specifically in early childhood development. These past weeks, I have learned how to put what I do instinctually with children into words – this course gave me more effective language to use when speaking with caregivers and other professionals about the progress of the children in my groups. I also now have new songs to use in my sessions and a new way of looking at planning those sessions. I hope to be able to share this information through professional development workshops (I have done some on other topics in the past) for some of our sites and to share these resources with colleagues where I work. I plan to incorporate this work and this information into my current sessions with young children for the time being, and possibly start some groups in the future!

Emily Fabian

Participant