What are the needs of the families you work with?

Home Forums Sprouting Melodies Training – January 2015 Week 5 What are the needs of the families you work with?

Viewing 19 reply threads
  • Author

Meredith Pizzi

Keymaster

What are the needs of the families you work with? What are the needs of your community? Share with the board how your families and communities might be unique.

Jessica Bogacik

Participant

As I’ve said before, I am relatively new to my community, but I’ve learned a little in my time here, and I also did a little online research. Columbus, Ohio is the 15th largest city in the U.S., and the largest city in Ohio, with over 800,000 people. Franklin County (of which the City of Columbus is a part) has over 1.22 million people. There are SO many people here! All counties in Ohio have a program called Help Me Grow, which offers services to families prenatally through age three, to support the healthy growth and development of children. This program recognizes the importance of nurturing children in their early years, and aims to give families of all socioeconomic backgrounds the same opportunities through early intervention services. I know that some children in this area receive music therapy services through this program!
      In the Columbus area, there is another music-based early childhood program, which has been around since the 1980s and has been very successful. The difference between this program and Sprouting Melodies is that the program here is not run by music therapists, and it uses a set lesson plan/methodology that each teacher must use for their classes, regardless of the unique needs of the individuals in the classes. Sprouting Melodies, as an Open Source Model, would promote the music therapist to meet the unique needs of the groups (planned, and in the moment), and the music therapist (through their training) would be able to accomplish that task.