What are the needs of the families you work with?

Home Forums Sprouting Melodies Training – January 2014 Week 5 What are the needs of the families you work with?

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Meredith Pizzi

Keymaster

What are the needs of the families you work with? What are the needs of your community? Share with the board how your families and communities might be unique.

Elyse Suhay

Participant

I haven’t started Sprouting Melodies groups yet, but I grew up in the town that I am going to start them in. It’s a small, rural community; just about the epitome of “Appalachian”. Most people have enough money to live comfortable, but there are definitely some who struggle to make ends meet. Several of the girls I graduated with are single moms who are having their second child, and many of them do not have a college degree (although a few are pursuing one). I think it will be beneficial for this community to understand child development better, think about their child’s behavior differently (running around is acceptable!), and to have some tools to take home that will help their child’s overall development.

Jennifer DeBedout

Participant