What value do music therapists provide to young families?

Home Forums Sprouting Melodies – June 2021 Week 5 What value do music therapists provide to young families?

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

Anonymous

Inactive

What value do music therapists provide to young families?  Contribute on the forum.

Maria Ramey

Participant

As I noted before, we can help young families identify and embrace “normal” developmental stages they might not have otherwise realized is “normal.” This week’s reading and videos emphasized this further and made me realize that as a trained professional, this can be especially helpful because I present as a voice of authority for parents who really don’t know what they’re doing the first time around. How could they? There is SOO much to learn SOO fast when you first become a parent and it feels like nobody tells you enough of what to expect, much less how to be flexible and adapt!

Very good points! I was a professional music therapist specializing in pediatrics for 6 years before I had my first child. I still felt like I didn’t know what I was doing! I felt even more lost when I added a second child with different needs from the first. Parenting is difficult and so having people who are knowledgeable about childhood development outside of yourself is incredibly helpful especially when that child is not developing typically.

Erika Svolos

Thank you for your insights!

Music therapists are able to develop a safe place for parents to ask questions and experience their child’s developmental abilities without judgement. Music therapy groups for young children are a wonderful way for families to connect with others. Often times, parents with young children feel isolated and need to reach out to develop bonds with other parents. We have that ability to create those safe spaces for them.

Samantha Springer

Participant