What was your most valuable takeaway from this weeks’ content?

Home Forums Sprouting Melodies Training – June 2016 Week 2 What was your most valuable takeaway from this weeks’ content?

Viewing 21 reply threads
  • Author

Meredith Pizzi

Keymaster

Please reflect on your takeaway from this week’s material.

Elizabeth Ferguson

Participant

My take away fro this week’s material is that Beth reminded me that sometimes just thinking about what the experience may e like for the child is not always enough, sometimes you have to actually “jump”! My most memorable music moments in early childhood music groups was when I was really enjoying the silliness/songs/movements right along with the children. Sometimes as a music therapist I can become so goal oriented that I can focus too much on getting responses and not enough experiencing together. I look forward to next week and diving into the music aspect!

Cassandra Reyna

Participant

I had a similar experience with teens today! Sometimes we forget that the goal can be humanistic–to just have fun! We danced together, and I didn’t just observe them. I danced too! They taught me what they knew, and it was so empowering for them to take the lead for once. Not to mention, I had a great time as well and remembered how important it is for these teens, who are living at a residential psychiatric facility, to just dance and have a good time with one another. They proved that they can work as a team after all 😉

Cassandra Reyna

Participant

I am definitely a list maker, and having developmental milestones on organized slides was hugely important for my list-oriented mind. I feel like I have a firmer grasp on them than I did when we learned similar material in school, especially since I am not focused on 15 or so credits at once right now. This information will make great “cheat sheets” for parents and for myself as I plan sessions for various age groups.

Anonymous

Inactive